SCREEN QUEENS

The Bold Type meets The Social Network.

This summer Silicon Valley is a girls’ club.

Three thousand applicants. An acceptance rate of two percent. A dream internship for the winning team. ValleyStart is the most prestigious high school tech incubator competition in the country. Lucy Katz, Maddie Li, and Delia Meyer have secured their spots. And they’ve come to win.

Meet the Screen Queens.

Screen Queens is a Young Adult contemporary from Penguin Young Readers Group.

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Available: Jun 11, 2019
ISBN: 9780593103531

goodreads.jpeg

Lucy Katz was born and raised in Palo Alto, so tech, well, it runs in her blood. A social butterfly and CEO in-the-making, Lucy is ready to win and party.

East Coast designer, Maddie Li left her home and small business behind for a summer at ValleyStart. Maddie thinks she’s only there to bolster her graphic design portfolio, not to make friends.

Delia Meyer taught herself how to code on a hand-me-down computer in her tiny Midwestern town. Now, it’s time for the big leagues–ValleyStart–but super shy Delia isn’t sure if she can hack it (pun intended).

When the competition kicks off, Lucy, Maddie, and Delia realize just how challenging the next five weeks will be. As if there wasn’t enough pressure already, the girls learn that they would be the only all-female team to win ever.Add in one first love, a two-faced mentor, and an ex-boyfriend turned nemesis and things get…complicated.

Filled with humor, heart, and a whole lot of girl power, Screen Queens is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Jenny Han, and The Bold Type.

WANT MORE? Read the full first chapter on PenguinTeen!

More Praise for Screen Queens

"Sassy and fun. This book made me cheer for smart girls everywhere. The future is definitely female!” 
—Chandler Baker, author of 
Whisper Network and This Is Not The End 

“Screen Queens is all you could ask for from a book about three brilliant and amazing young women: witty, sharp, insightful, hilarious, and filled to the brim with heart. Welcome to your new favorite book.”
—Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of 

The Serpent King

“Fierce, fast-paced and funny, Screen Queens had me loudly cheering for Lucy, Maddie, Delia and every girl out there fighting the boys club.”
—Jenn Marie Thorne, author of 
Night Music 

“With ambitious, lovable, and super-strong young women, this Silicon Valley romp doesn't shy away from the complexities of family, friendship, first love or female power. Go, queens!”
—Leah Konen, author of 
Happy Messy Scary Love

One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Summer

Parade Magazine 

#ScreenQueens "will make readers quake with outrage at the injustice that women face everyday in the industry, and then turn that stereotype into fodder for change through three young women who’ve had enough.” And named as one of the "30 Perfect Beach Reads of 2019"

The Nerd Daily 

 

"This story of female friendship, owning your voice, and chasing your dreams is an empowering and fun summer read.” And named as one of the "Must Read YA Books of 2019 (so far)"

Popsugar

 

Named as one of the "STEM Books Every Young Rebel Girl Should Read"

Rebel Girls, home of Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls

Named as one of "15 YA Books to Add to Your Summer TBR"

Bookriot

Free Character Cards!

 
 

SOURCES SAY

Two exes. One election. All the drama.

At Acedia High School, election 2020 is more than just politics. It's a battle of the exes.

What happens when you mix a student council election, sibling rivalry, bitter exes, and fake news?

SOURCES SAY! 

Sources Say is a Young Adult contemporary from Penguin Young Readers Group.

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Available: September 8, 2020
ISBN: 9780593117408

goodreads.jpeg

At Acedia High, student council has always been a joke. Nobody pays attention. Nobody cares.

 

But that changes when someone plasters the halls with Photoshopped images of three “perfect tens”—composites of scantily clad girls made from real photos of female students at the school. Quickly dubbed the “Frankengirls,” the scandal rocks the student body. And the two presidential candidates, budding influencer Angeline Quinn and charming jock Leo Torres, jump on the opportunity to propose their solutions and secure votes. Fresh from a messy public breakup, Angeline and Leo fight to win, and their battle both mesmerizes and divides the school.

 

The election fills the pages of The Red and Blue, the school newspaper run by Angeline’s sister, Cat. The Quinn sisters share a room and a grade but little else, and unlike her more sensationalist sister, Cat prides herself on reporting the facts. So when a rival newspaper pops up—written by an anonymous source and the epitome of “fake news”—Cat’s journalistic buttons are pushed. Rumors fly, secrets are leaked, and the previously mundane student election becomes anything but boring. 

WANT MORE? Read the full first chapter on PenguinTeen!  

 

Follow me on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or BookBub (the more the merrier!).

More Praise for Sources Say

"Lori Goldstein's "Sources Say" is the perfect 2020 read. Timely, smart, saavy and fun, this is one novel you can't miss. In fact, Sources Say might just be the best book I've read this year. No, wait, let me take the might out. It definitely is." -- Fangirlish 

"If you’re looking for a good, dramatic, hilariously over the top at times high school drama, then this is the book you’re looking for. Rating: 9/10" -- Nerd Daily

"Taking on the issues of our current media-driven political landscape is no easy feat, but one Lori Goldstein accomplishes with a deft hand. Sources Say touches on everything from sexist school policies to the way truth can be twisted to fit a specific agenda. But rather than rehashing old news, Goldstein shows readers a new way forward. This book is at once a cautionary tale, a political thriller, and a coming of age novel. Unflinching and timely."

— Kinsey Foreman, Children's Book Buyer, Odyssey Books

"There seems to be so much ugliness in our world today with the division of political parties; the interference of our elections and the impeachment of our president, the bombardment of social media and the vulgar and barbaric comments, and the ongoing assault on our traditional news media. It is extremely critical that our children and young adults are fully educated and aware of what is happening in the world today. Author Lori Goldstein has written a novel that is both relevant and remarkable and cleverly mirrors what is happening in our society today. Sources Say includes a little romance, a little mystery, and a whole lot of substance to make this book an important read, one that should be included on every high school and college recommended book list.  Plus, it is just fun!"

— Marilyn Robbins, Children's Program Coordinator, BookBar Denver

“A book about sisterhood, love, and how far is too far. A timely book in the era of fake news and the election. I couldn't put it down. I had to find out who would win and who was behind it all." 
—Meghan Yost, Duxbury Free Library

"Exploring influencer culture, high school politics, and the ways most educational institutions fail to address harassment among students, Sources Say will resonate with teen readers seeking stories that encourage them to use their own voices. A must-read in a current social climate that is more digitally connected and socially engaged than ever before!"
— Mary Hinson, Irving Public Library


“One of the most realistic high school settings I’ve read in a while, Lori Goldstein crafts strong, believable relationships between every character. The growing pains of love and competition between Cat and Angie is the picture of sibling rivalry, and the growth of their sisterhood through the story squeezed my heart and wouldn’t let go. The drama of a school election and the introduction of a “fake news” outlet to rival print news create such drama and intrigue that if you don’t stay for the characters (which you want to!), you’ll stay just to see how the election turns out. Sources Say is a timely novel, and a great way to exemplify our nation’s climate today, covering politics, #MeToo, and standards of journalism to high schoolers. But more than that, this is a story about family, and the strength of the family we choose, as well as the one we are born with. I can’t wait to share this with teens who are looking to see their own experiences reflected in a political, passionate climate.”
—Tildy-Banker Johnson, Manager, Belmont Books

 

Did you read and enjoy Screen Queens!

Let other readers know!

If you love Screen Queens and want to help spread the word, consider telling your friends and family about the novel, putting a review on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads, and asking your local bookstore and library (don't forget school libraries!) to carry the title. Much appreciated! 

© 2019 by Lori Goldstein. Proudly created with WIX.COM