SCREEN QUEENS

The Bold Type meets The Social Network.

This summer Silicon Valley is a girls’ club.

Three thousand applicants. An acceptance rate of two percent. A dream internship for the winning team. ValleyStart is the most prestigious high school tech incubator competition in the country. Lucy Katz, Maddie Li, and Delia Meyer have secured their spots. And they’ve come to win.

Meet the Screen Queens.

Screen Queens is a Young Adult contemporary from Penguin Young Readers Group.

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Available: Jun 11, 2019
ISBN: 9780593103531

goodreads.jpeg

Lucy Katz was born and raised in Palo Alto, so tech, well, it runs in her blood. A social butterfly and CEO in-the-making, Lucy is ready to win and party.

East Coast designer, Maddie Li left her home and small business behind for a summer at ValleyStart. Maddie thinks she’s only there to bolster her graphic design portfolio, not to make friends.

Delia Meyer taught herself how to code on a hand-me-down computer in her tiny Midwestern town. Now, it’s time for the big leagues–ValleyStart–but super shy Delia isn’t sure if she can hack it (pun intended).

When the competition kicks off, Lucy, Maddie, and Delia realize just how challenging the next five weeks will be. As if there wasn’t enough pressure already, the girls learn that they would be the only all-female team to win ever.Add in one first love, a two-faced mentor, and an ex-boyfriend turned nemesis and things get…complicated.

Filled with humor, heart, and a whole lot of girl power, Screen Queens is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Jenny Han, and The Bold Type.

WANT MORE? Read the full first chapter on PenguinTeen!

More Praise for Screen Queens

"Sassy and fun. This book made me cheer for smart girls everywhere. The future is definitely female!” 
—Chandler Baker, author of 
Whisper Network and This Is Not The End 

“Screen Queens is all you could ask for from a book about three brilliant and amazing young women: witty, sharp, insightful, hilarious, and filled to the brim with heart. Welcome to your new favorite book.”
—Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of 

The Serpent King

“Fierce, fast-paced and funny, Screen Queens had me loudly cheering for Lucy, Maddie, Delia and every girl out there fighting the boys club.”
—Jenn Marie Thorne, author of 
Night Music 

“With ambitious, lovable, and super-strong young women, this Silicon Valley romp doesn't shy away from the complexities of family, friendship, first love or female power. Go, queens!”
—Leah Konen, author of 
Happy Messy Scary Love

One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Summer

Parade Magazine 

#ScreenQueens "will make readers quake with outrage at the injustice that women face everyday in the industry, and then turn that stereotype into fodder for change through three young women who’ve had enough.” And named as one of the "30 Perfect Beach Reads of 2019"

The Nerd Daily 

 

"This story of female friendship, owning your voice, and chasing your dreams is an empowering and fun summer read.” And named as one of the "Must Read YA Books of 2019 (so far)"

Popsugar

 

Named as one of the "STEM Books Every Young Rebel Girl Should Read"

Rebel Girls, home of Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls

Named as one of "15 YA Books to Add to Your Summer TBR"

Bookriot

Free Character Cards!

 
 

SCREEN QUEENS

The Bold Type meets The Social Network.

This summer Silicon Valley is a girls’ club.

Three thousand applicants. An acceptance rate of two percent. A dream internship for the winning team. ValleyStart is the most prestigious high school tech incubator competition in the country. Lucy Katz, Maddie Li, and Delia Meyer have secured their spots. And they’ve come to win.

Meet the Screen Queens.

Screen Queens is a Young Adult contemporary from Penguin Young Readers Group.

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Available: Jun 11, 2019
ISBN: 9780593103531

goodreads.jpeg

Lucy Katz was born and raised in Palo Alto, so tech, well, it runs in her blood. A social butterfly and CEO in-the-making, Lucy is ready to win and party.

East Coast designer, Maddie Li left her home and small business behind for a summer at ValleyStart. Maddie thinks she’s only there to bolster her graphic design portfolio, not to make friends.

Delia Meyer taught herself how to code on a hand-me-down computer in her tiny Midwestern town. Now, it’s time for the big leagues–ValleyStart–but super shy Delia isn’t sure if she can hack it (pun intended).

When the competition kicks off, Lucy, Maddie, and Delia realize just how challenging the next five weeks will be. As if there wasn’t enough pressure already, the girls learn that they would be the only all-female team to win ever.Add in one first love, a two-faced mentor, and an ex-boyfriend turned nemesis and things get…complicated.

Filled with humor, heart, and a whole lot of girl power, Screen Queens is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Jenny Han, and The Bold Type.

WANT MORE? Read the full first chapter on PenguinTeen!  

 

Follow me on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or BookBub (the more the merrier!).

Praise for Screen Queens

"A fun and uplifting story that celebrates female friendship and empowerment."
— Kirkus Reviews

 

“Bold and timely, this STEM-friendly romp is empowering and invigorating.” 
American Library Association's Booklist 

One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Summer

Parade Magazine 

#ScreenQueens "will make readers quake with outrage at the injustice that women face everyday in the industry, and then turn that stereotype into fodder for change through three young women who’ve had enough.” And named as one of the "30 Perfect Beach Reads of 2019"

The Nerd Daily 

 

"This story of female friendship, owning your voice, and chasing your dreams is an empowering and fun summer read.” And named as one of the "Must Read YA Books of 2019 (so far)"

Popsugar

 

Named as one of the "STEM Books Every Young Rebel Girl Should Read"

Rebel Girls, home of Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls

Named as one of "15 YA Books to Add to Your Summer TBR"

Bookriot

"A whip-smart take on how girls fight to exist and thrive in hostile spaces, and an engaging look at the high-stakes, tech-driven Silicon Valley and the competition and the successes it can breed. You’ll cheer for these strong, smart young women."
Kelly Loy Gilbert, award-winning author of Picture Us in the Light and Conviction

 

"Screen Queens is funny and smart—it’s perfect for any woman or girl looking  to disrupt!" 
Emily Chang, best-selling author of Brotopia and host of Bloomberg Technology

"Sassy and fun. This book made me cheer for smart girls everywhere. The future is definitely female!” 
—Chandler Baker, New York Times best-selling author of 
Whisper Network and This Is Not The End 

“Screen Queens is all you could ask for from a book about three brilliant and amazing young women: witty, sharp, insightful, hilarious, and filled to the brim with heart. Welcome to your new favorite book.”
—Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of 

The Serpent King

“Fierce, fast-paced and funny, Screen Queens had me loudly cheering for Lucy, Maddie, Delia and every girl out there fighting the boys club.”
—Jenn Marie Thorne, author of 
Night Music 

“With ambitious, lovable, and super-strong young women, this Silicon Valley romp doesn't shy away from the complexities of family, friendship, first love or female power. Go, queens!”
—Leah Konen, author of 
Happy Messy Scary Love

Free Character Cards!

Want your very own Screen Queens?

 

Email me and I'll send along these super cute, specially made mix-and-match paper doll character cards! Free, no purchase necessary! 

 

 

Help Spread the Word!

If you love Screen Queens and want to help spread the word, consider telling your friends and family about the novel, putting a review on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads, and asking your local bookstore and library (don't forget school libraries!) to carry the title. Much appreciated! 

© 2019 by Lori Goldstein. Proudly created with WIX.COM